R.I.P. Satoshi Kon (and GWT’s Kon Month)

Some of you may have already heard, but today is a sad, sad day for not only the world of anime, but for all artists, directors, and psychological geniuses. Satoshi Kon, acclaimed director of such anime as Perfect Blue, Paprika, and Paranoia Agent, was found dead today at the young age of 47. This long time member of Madhouse Studios, and reoccurring focus some of my very own anime reviews, was truly a directing genius, and often awed us with his spectacular visuals, mysterious stories, and psychological roller coasters that would have all of us guessing until the very end. The passing of Satoshi Kon is an undeserved death, and he should have lived a much longer, and fulfilling life. What makes it even more tragic, is that it seems he had been working on another film by the name of Yume-Miru Kikai (or The Dreaming Machine). News on whether or not his final project is finished, or will be finished is still pending.

Usually celebrity deaths don’t affect me in the least. I mean, lets face it; people die every day, and celebrities are no different. But there have known cases where the passing of a celebrity has depressed me (Paul Gray of Slipknot, Ronnie James Dio, Heath Ledger, and I’m even still bummed out over Freddy Mercury), and this tragedy is now among them. Of all the various directors and talents out there in anime industry, Satoshi Kon was one of the very few that had actually stood out to me, and he definitely presented himself as a leading mind in the progression of the art medium. Paprika alone was enough to put him on my favorite people list on http://myanimelist.net.

Not only seeing his art influenced me to truly appreciate his talents, but also critiquing it. For those who don’t know, one of the first few reviews I ever did on this were Paprika and Paranoia Agent. Yes, they’re old and lame reviews, and I probably handled them horribly, but there marked the beginning of this blog, and have lead me to where I am today.

Which is why I am deciding to dedicate the next month completely to Satoshi Kon. That’s right, from now until the end of September is Kon Month, presented by Geeks With Taste, with yours truly. I am going to be taking the time to rewatch all of Kon’s work, plus everything else I haven’t seen, and give proper reviews of all I haven’t done thus far. Look forward to reviews of Tokyo Godfather, Millennium Actress and Perfect Blue all this month. Join me as I pay tribute to Satoshi Kon in the best way an insignificant speck like myself can.

Until then, this has been Sachi, bringing you the start of Kon Month.

