Iron Maiden + Dream Theater = Awesome

So, as most of us headbangers know, Iron Maiden recently launched the North American branch of their ‘The Final Frontier’ World Tour with Dream Theater in order to promote their upcoming new album, The Final Frontier, which will be released on August 16th of this year. What most of you headbangers don’t know is that this Geek was there June 20th at the Concord Pavilion to see the entire thing. Jealous? I am.

As momentous as it sounds, this show certainly takes the number one spot as the best concert I’ve been to, and a great way to spend a Father’s Day without the pops– don’t worry; I gave him a call. The show was also a huge change in scenery from the usual Plea For Peace Punk Rock and Metal shows I work at; the pavilion was packed full of Iron Maiden and Dream Theater fans, spanning from the ages of six to possibly the sixties and older. However, much alike the usual crowd at the Plea For Peace Center, just about everybody attending the concert was simply looking to have a good time, listen to some good music, and show what the music is all about: bringing us together. Not that there wasn’t a few bad apples in the crowd, but we won’t talk about them.

I managed to get in just in time for Dream Theater to take the stage and open up with As I Am. I quickly took my seat (yes, I had to sit down) and enjoyed the performance. Being that I’m a drummer, and this was my first time seeing Dream Theater live, you can guess that my eye was focused on God the entire time, (did I say God? I meant Mike Portnoy, but what’s the difference?) and boy, did he make it look incredibly easy. But he wasn’t the only one, as the entire band looked great up there. My only disappointment is that they only dominated the stage for about an hour, which isn’t nearly enough time to do them justice. If anybody is interested in their set list, I was able to remember it (because of how short it was): As I Am, A Rite of Passage, Home, Panic Attack, Constant Motion, and Pull Me Under.

Click for larger satisfaction. ;D

As a bit of luck to add to an incredibly fortunate day, I managed to get passes into the pit just in time for Iron Maiden to go on and I was able to get right up to the front where everything was happening. This was certainly a much better feeling than when I last saw them in 2006 at the Shoreline Amphitheater and had to stay in the grass area in the back. As expected from the pioneers of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal, the show was very energetic and everybody was able to get into it as if it were still the ’80’s. They played for a good three or so hours straight, and things just kept getting more and more pumped as they continued. The new Alien/Predator-esque incarnation of Eddy even came on stage, and Janick Gers (as usual) had the pleasure of kicking his ass. Who would have thought that being sandwiched between hundreds of people much larger than me jumping around with devil horns in the air, singing along to the music, and trying to not to die would be so much fun? Well, it’s one of the best experiences in the world, up there with sex. Anyways, while I can’t remember the exact set list they had, I’ll share the ones that stood out: The Wicker Man, The Number of the Beast, Fear of the Dark, Blood Brothers, Dance of Death, Wrathchild, The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg, and El Dorado, a song off the upcoming album (and my song of the week, by the way). What an experience.

Overall, this was one of the greatest shows of all time, and I wouldn’t be surprised if this was the greatest show I’ll ever attend (unless I can get front row tickets to see Dream Theater headline someday… someday). Just an amazing night, an amazing birthday present, and an amazing experience, one I shall not soon be forgetting. Thank you, Mother, for making it all happen. Until the next time I see an amazing show, this has been another– oh wait, the first– concert review here on Geeks With Taste! Until next time~

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

