Iron Maiden’s “The Final Frontier” World Tour

For all you old school metal heads out there, Iron Maiden is preparing to release their new studio album, The Final Frontier. Coinciding with this release, “The Final Frontier” world tour is kicking off in June here in the U.S, starting in Dallas, Texas, and working its way around North America before leaving for Germany and the rest of Europe. Accompanying them on the North American segment of the tour is another amazing band, Progressive Metal group, Dream Theater, who recently released Black Clouds & Silver Linings last year (see my review of BC&SL here).

This much anticipated album will be Iron Maiden’s fifteenth since their first self-titled release in 1980. The Final Frontier is bringing Iron Maiden back after their break following A Matter of Life and Death in 2006 (making this the longest gap they’ve ever had between albums), so much is expected of these pioneers in British heavy metal and many can rest assured that they will be bringing back their classic style and revamping it with something completely new. I remember counting down the days before their 2006 release, and it would appear that I will be doing the same for the new release this summer.

I’ve seen Iron Maiden once before in concert at Ozzfest in 2006 (my first large concert, in fact), and it was an amazing show. I’ve never seen Dream Theater in concert before, however I have heard that they’re also quite amazing and very fun to see on stage. I think it would be quite an honor to be able to witness my drumming idol, Mike Portnoy, live on stage and doing his thing, and it is certainly a sight I would like to be able to see at least once in my lifetime. One amazing act with another is sure to make the enjoyment increase exponentially.

I personally think this is going to be a show of a lifetime. Iron Maiden was the group that initially got me interested in music and the reason I have such a passion for it today. To this day, they remain among my top five bands of all time. Now, mix this with Dream Theater, a progressive metal band of some of the very best musicians of our time, another one of my top five bands of all time. Together, this becomes a show that cannot be missed by any fans of these great leaders in metal. I really hope I’ll will be able to make the show when they pass through California, and I’m looking forward to what may be a wonderful birthday present. Iron Maiden’s “The Final Frontier” World Tour is sure to be a blast for everybody involved, and I’m sure it’ll be great to see. If you can make it, go do it, you will not regret it.

For more news about the tour, check out Iron Maiden’s site information, here.

