WonderCon 2010

This weekend was San Fransisco’s annual WonderCon, the miniature version of the madness that is ComiCon, but still is a dive into the depths of insanity as one tries to fight through crowds to get across the Dealers’ Room, pay outrageous prices for the sake of eating, and wait in line for hours just to see the new Dr. Who episode. I, being the crazy person that I am, actually dared to attend this carnival for a day, and I’m surprised I came out in one piece.

First of all, I love San Fransisco. It is easily my favorite city in California due to its location, diversity and attractions, as well as being the area I wish to attend school after I graduate high school. It certainly is quite the opposite of where I live now, out in the middle of nowhere in a nameless country town east of Sacramento. City life is what I was made for, and I can’t wait to live there one day.

Anyways, as one would expect at any convention of pop culture (e.g, anime, comics, games), many people came dressed up in all sorts of costumes, cosplays, and other weird outfits that sometimes looked amazing, and other times looked– well, I won’t go there. I wish I would have brought my camera and snapped a picture with a few of these people; I’ll be sure to next time (possibly Fanime next month in San Jose). Some costumes in particular that caught my eye were a Stormtrooper Wolverine (litterally, Wolverine, mutton chops and all, wearing Stormtrooper armor), a well-done Molotov Cocktease from the Venture Bros., and an extremely daring cosplay of Misato Katsuragi from Neon Genesis Evangelion by what appeared to be a woman in her late 50’s; I had to give kudos to her.

At a convention like this, there are countless booths with a variety of different things to offer such as clothes, comics, artwork, toys, etc. One booth in particular the stood out was the Racebender booth, by a group of kids boycotting the upcoming live action Avatar: The Last Airbender movie, because the cast was only open to Caucasians, and nothing else. Naturally, this would upset people, because most of those characters are Asian, and we get another case of Hollywood “racebending” to meet a Caucasion audience. As a small support to their cause, I took a picture for them holding a sign they made, as well as grabbing a few wristbands and buying the only T-Shirt I bought at the entire convention. Check out their site at http://www.racebending.com/v3/.

Something exclusive to this year’s WonderCon, the U.S. premiere of the new season of Dr. Who, which also features a brand new Doctor happened to be yesterday. This new episode isn’t set to air until April 17th, so you can imagine how nearly two thousand Dr. Who fans would react to this (I pull this number from the sheer size of the line I had to wait in in order to see the episode). I have never, up until this point, seen a Dr. Who episode. I have heard many good things about it, and I know my mother is a nut for David Tennant. After waiting in line for a half hour (which really isn’t bad at all, considering the absolutely huge number of people in line with me), I got into the second showing of it, and witnessed my first Dr. Who episode. I walked away quite satisfied with it, and I may even consider catching up with the series to begin following it later. It’s a good thing I have a few Dr. Who fanatics as friends in order to point me in the right direction.

Conventions are always fun, because I get to see old friends I met at other conventions, meet new friends to meet at future conventions, and simply have fun nerding out among thousands of people as nerdy as me, if not even more nerdy. I got to see one of my favorite cities, as well as seeing some amazing things, and walking away with a few trinkets of my own. Another successful year at WonderCon, and I hope to make it to the next. Until then, there’s Fanime and ComiCon to make it to.

